Session Information

[August 5] Ensuring Equity and Justice During the Pandemic and Beyond: Lessons Learned from the Poor People’s Campaign

Description: In March, the Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival convened the COVID-19 Health Justice Advisory Committee to advise the movement’s efforts to ensure a just and equitable response to the COVID-19 pandemic and beyond. Join Dr. Sharrelle Barber and organizers from the campaign for a discussion about lessons learned and the urgent need for a movement that organizes from the bottom up and demands a radical restructuring of this nation during these challenging times.

Date & Time: August 5, 2020 at 1pm EST (12pm CST/11am MST/10am PST/9am AK/8am HI)

Quick Links:

Invited Speakers:

Dr. Sharrelle Barber ScD, MPH, is Assistant Research Professor at Drexel University in the Dornsife School of Public Health.  Dr. Barber’s research employs multilevel analysis and spatial techniques and draws heavily from theories that take a socio-ecological approach to understanding health and health inequalities. Ultimately, Dr. Barber hopes her research will inform the development of multi-level, multi-sector policies that will address the underlying structural determinants of health through economic and social policy initiatives. Dr. Barber received a Doctor of Science (ScD) degree in Social Epidemiology from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and a Master of Public Health (MPH) in Health Behavior and Health Education from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Gillings School of Global Public Health.

SPONSORS

Clinical Scholars is a national leadership program for experienced health care providers supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

UNC Rural: Website | Twitter